Cultural Triangle

If you appreciate culture, heritage and the ancient history, this is the place to experience while in Sri Lanka. The Cultural Triangle covers Sigirya, Dambulla, Anuradhapura and Polonnaruwa. The history here goes back to the 400BC and has been home to many past kingdoms. You will find some amazing architecture, sophisticated irrigation systems, man-made lakes, and beautiful temples. The ruins of the Cultural Triangle are protected by the UNESCO as World Heritage sites.

Image Alternative text


The word Sigiriya means the Lion Rock. This magnificent complex centering a 200 meter high rock consists of geometrically laid gardens; pools, fountains as well as the oldest surviving frescos of maidens were the palace of King Kasyapa. Read More

Image Alternative text


Dambulla is located at a distance of 19 km away from Sigiriya. By far the most impressive of all the cave temples in Sri Lanka, is the Dambulla Raja Maha VIhara also known as the Dambulla Rock temple. This consists of 5 cave temples dating back to the 12th Century AD. Read More

Image Alternative text


The first capital of Sri Lanka and remained so until 10th Century AD, lasting over 1400 years and having ruled by 123 Kings. During this period it remained one of the most stable and durable centers of political power and urban life in South Asia. The city, now a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is one of the oldest continuously inhabited cities in the world. Read More

Image Alternative text


Sri Lanka’s medieval capital rose to fame after Anuradhapura's decline. Polonnurawa became Sri Lanka's capital in the 11th century AD. During its time the city was fortified with three concentric walls, decorated with parks and gardens and sanctified by many a shrine and sacred place. The city rests in the northeast shore of a huge lake... Read More